Superman Comic Sells for £227,000


action-manThis story made my heart flutter at what could have been. If only I had kept some of those geeky comics I used to read. It was of course a fairly rare comic mind you. It was one of only 100 known copies of the first Superman comic which was published in 1938. Now given my youthful age it’s clear none of the comics I used to have are all that old, and so at the end of the day maybe not worth all that much today had they survived one of my aunts famous clear-outs of our house.

 

Apparently this comic was bought by a young boy for just 35 cents, he forgot all about it until 1966 when he ‘re-found’ it in his mothers basement, how the hell did he get so lucky that’s what I want to know? I had once hoped to ‘re-find’ all my Star Wars toys that I had stashed in my mothers attic, but alas when I made the trip home to find (and sell) them I discovered that mother dearest had given them all away to “the nice boys that used to live next door” !!!!! Nice boys? Those two? I had been harbouring dreams of what I would do with the oodles of money I was surely going to make from them on eBay and now all I could think about was what those two nice boys were spending the money on instead. And believe me there were lots and lots of different Star Wars figures and all the necessary accompaniments such as my much loved AT-AT Walker.

 

Still fear not, I could always sell the action man collection I had kept, which included my brothers ones as well (look he grew up and joined the army and became a real life action man, he didn’t need them). We even had Eagle Eyes and a couple of armoured carriers and a tank, but OH MY GOD the nice boys next door got those as well…. Now I already have middle child syndrome so you can just imagine what this did for my sense of belonging to the MacArthur clan.

 

Oh and in case you were wondering Action Man is 43 years old, and given the games I would play with him and my sisters Barbie…. It appears she likes younger men.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Superman Comic Sells for £227,000”

  1. Peter Says:

    Given the games I used to play with him, he would appear to be a big Nancy Boy.

  2. watcat Says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  3. wonker Says:

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  4. matt Says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

