Remembering Dr Tania Lienert


Myself and many others in the LGBT community are mourning the loss of Tania Lienert who died on 9th December 2010 as a result of a car accident. She was a shining light to many of us and worked on a range of important issues of social justice. Tania was kind, gentle and always made time for others. Her untimely death has had an enormous impact on many.

Tania was a much respected intellectual and her achievements in both the academic and LGBT scenes were highly regarded. Many will remember her for the good work she did with Aids Council of New South Wales (ACON) in the Northern Rivers area where she was manager. Tania’s last role was working with the University Department of Rural Health in Lismore where she was co-ordinating a primary health care research development programme. Tania always worked incredibly hard and with a great deal of passion to provide and improve services to the gay and lesbian community. She really did make a difference to people’s lives.

When I first met Tania and her partner Debs I had been here in Australia for a couple of years, I love being in Australia but at times being so far away from my family can be hard. I feel very much that I found a family in Debs and Tania and it is one that I will always cherish.

Tania and Debs, have always shown me compassion, understanding, respect and forgiveness, qualities that are the foundations of a good strong family. To me they are family and Tania will forever be in my heart.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

