China, Tibet and Nepal here I come…


For my next adventure, which is in June, I shall be trekking in the Himalayas and I can’t wait. I guess I will need to get a little fitter though beforehand. The trip kicks off in China’s capital Beijing where I shall be visiting both the Summer Palace and the Great Wall and will also be sure to roast duck Beijing style. Have a few days here before making the train journey to Lhasa in Tibet, this being the highest railway in the world, traversing some incredibly mountainous and remote terrain, very excited about it, I do love a good train journey. The remainder of the trip from Lhasa in Tibet to Kathmandu in Nepal will be made overland, by bus and some walking where and there.

In Lhasa I’ll be visiting Potala Palace, former home of the Dalai Lama and will try and practice some of the skills I hope to have learnt in the Tibetan lesson I will be doing there, if I manage to get a basic greeting correct I will be happy. Will also spend some time visiting Braille Without Borders (http://www.braillewithoutborders.org/ENGLISH/index_nov_07.html) an organisation that provides support, education and training to visually impaired Tibetans.

From Lhasa will be making my way to Nam Tso Lake which is meant to be one of the most beautiful spots in the world. After time at the lake will be making my way to Samye which is home to the oldest monastery in Tibet, will actually be staying in a monastery here. This is followed by travel to Gyantse and a climb on the way to the top of Hepo Ri for some “spectacular views” and some more climbing to view some glaciers and more peaks. From here will be heading to Shigatse, Tibet’s second largest city, where I’ll visit the Tashilhunpo Monastery. Whilst here I shall be visiting another project of Braille Without Borders.

After this I head to the small town of Sakya to visit a monastery that was built medieval Mongolian style and staying id some rather ‘basic’ accommodation. Hopefully by now I’ll be fine with the altitude and not be sick, because from here will be trekking up Everest Base Camp, apparently I will be able to use my mobile phone here!! Will then be climbing through some mountain passes to get to the small village of Lao Tingri  and spend some time with the locals. Then head for the boarder town of Zhangmu that takes me into Nepal. From here head to my final destination which is the capital Kathmandu, how cool does that sound.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “China, Tibet and Nepal here I come…”

  1. Lord Norton Says:

    Some of us will be expecting a postcard…

  2. macarthursmutterings Says:

    some of you will be getting them… It’s been a while since I did such a ‘basic’ trip, might have to sleep in a tent for a few nights before I go to remind myself what it is like 😉

  3. Wendy Wedgebury Says:

    If I didn’t love you I’d hate you for getting to Tibet one of the places I ‘ve always wanted to go and now wont.
    I’m sure you’ll have interesting time and will look forward to see your pix etc.

    By the way who do you think I got this lovely Mac for me?

    Adios

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

