Introducing the Chocolate Solace Cake…


photoI was feeling a bit eeeerm….. despondent today and decided I need a distraction. I thought I could work on a report for work that needs attention, but quickly decided against that and decided to bake. No not just bake, but to ‘invent’ a cake. I am not a great cook, in fact I am a real stress bucket in the kitchen if making a meal, but when it comes to baking I am not that bad, and I love the process. I don’t have a food processor so make all y cakes by hand and find the process nice and cathartic, oh and I loooooove cake too so the end result is always worth the effort. How things have moved on since I set myself this challenge back in 2010: Cake Challenge

Anyway, I thought I would limit myself to the ingredients I had in the cupboard and make something using those only, no shopping allowed. Turns out I was not that limited and had heaps of ingredients to pick from. So I put out loads of stuff on the kitchen top, put aside the basics to create the basis of the cake and then thinking about the cakes I have made in the past and what I thought might work I pulled out a few more.

It turned out rather well if I do say so myself and I have christened this cake the Chocolate Solace Cake, and thought I would share it with you, well not the actual cake because that is for me to eat, but how to make it….

Chocolate Solace Cake:

Ingredients

  • 140g butter (at room temperature)
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 75g coconut sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 250g self-rising flour
  • Dash of milk
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 2 tea spoons of baking powder
  • 100g desiccated coconut
  • 2 large table spoons of golden syrup
  • 275g dark chocolate

Pre-heat oven to 200c (turn down to 180c when placing cake in oven). Grease with butter and line a 20cm cake tin.

In a large bowl beat together the butter caster sugar and coconut sugar till light a fluffy, then add the eggs, beat these in one at a time. Put all the flour, baking soda and cocoa powder into a bowl together than sieve into mixture a bit at a time, fold into mixture and add a dash of milk once it begins to thicken. Stir in the desiccated coconut and golden syrup.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl over a simmering saucepan, do this gently will all the lumps have gone and you have a nice smooth chocolate sauce, then add to mixture and stir in.

Add to cake tin and use back of metal spoon to even out the mixture and tap the tin a few times in the kitchen top to help settle mixture.

Place in oven (remember to turn down to 180c) and bake for about 45mins, check it with a skewer at 40mins, if it comes out clean it is all done. Then let it sit in tin for about 5 to 10mins before turning out on rack to cool.

Decorate as you wish, I dribbled some icing and grated some chocolate over the top.

Leave a Reply

